view cart

Jewish Holidays

Send this page to a friend


Names Of Shavuot

Names Of ShavuotThere is also an agricultural significance to Shavuot as it coincides with the time of the first harvest. Originally an agricultural festival in the month of Sivan, Shavuot was celebrated by pilgrimages to the Temple in Jerusalem, where Jews offered the first fruits of their harvest. Hence the name Hag ha-Katzir: Feast of the Harvest (Exodus 23:16). It was from this wheat that two loaves of bread were baked and brought to the Temple as an offering, after which the new season's wheat could be used for the Temple meal offerings. Another name is Hag ha-Bikkurim: Festival of the First Fruits for after the first fruits of each fruit were offered, the remainder of the harvest was permissible to use.

Sefirat Haomer

Sefirat HaomerThe name Shavuot means weeks; this name is derived from the fact that Shavuot takes place after the seven week period of the Counting of the Omer. The period from Passover to Shavu'ot is a time of great anticipation. We count each of the days from the second day of Passover to the day before Shavu'ot, 49 days or 7 full weeks this counting is named Sefirat Haomer.

Food of Shavuot

Food of ShavuotWe love eating all those dairy dishes from blintzes to cheese cake. Since most other Jewish holidays are drenched in brisket and chicken soup, the tradition to eat dairy on Shavuot comes as a welcome change. There are many, many reasons offered for this custom. The most excepted one is that once the Jews accepted the Torah, they became obligated in the laws of kosher. But since they were not yet familiar with the laws regarding animal slaughter, they ate dairy. WE PREAPERED MANY SHAVUOT DISHES FOR YOU THAT YOU CAN SEE BY CLICKING THE LINK TO OUR SHAVUOT RECIPES.

see Shavuot recipes

Megilat Ruth

Megilat RuthThe Name Megillat Ruth or the scroll of Ruth places the book as one of the five scrolls Our Sages explain that the Israelites received the Torah on Shavuot and Ruth converted and accepted the Jewish religion during the harvest period. 613 mitzvoth were given to Israel, whereas only seven commandments were given to the gentile nations. When Ruth came to convert, she observed her seven commandments and accepted an additional 606 mitzvoth. The Book of Ruth, Megilat Ruth, is read is traditionally read on the day of Shavuot to remind us that just as Torah learning is acquired through pain and poverty so did Ruth endure poverty and sorrow in her quest to become part of the Jewish Nation. We learn that just like Ruth who converted and was accepted by G-d, so too the nation of Israel enter the covenant with God this day as they eagerly accepting the Torah.

Tikkun Leil Shavuot

Legends scold the Jewish people for sleeping the night before they received the Torah. Apparently G-d had to sound a Shofar blast and bring thunder and lightning to wake them up. For this reason 16th century cabbalists Israel created Tikkun Leil Shavuot - repairing the eve of Shavuot. The Tikkun consists of readings from the bible, the Talmud and the Cabbala, studied all night long.

Artis web design and development